In 1972, the only Catholic high school in Austin closed. Within ten years, ours was the only US major city without a Catholic high school. Led by Dr. Leonard Dolce, a small group of parents and Catholic lay leaders commissioned a study that revealed the Austin community would enthusiastically support such a school. In 1984, St. Michael's Catholic Academy opened its doors. It was one of the first Catholic schools in the nation to be established entirely by lay people. The land and the school buildings are not owned by the diocese – a striking departure from typical Catholic schools. Although the Diocese of Austin has been extremely supportive, lay people have assumed full responsibility for St. Michael's. Since the school’s beginning, trustees, parents, faculty and staff have labored to realize its founding vision: to be a first-class Catholic secondary school that nourishes the minds, bodies and spirits of its students, preparing them for a challenging college education and a Christian adult life.

Meet Our Trustees


List of 10 members.

  • Photo of Jarrett Anderson

    Jarrett Anderson 

  • Photo of Jason Beiter

    Jason Beiter 

  • Photo of Louis Brusatti

    Louis Brusatti 

  • Photo of Juan Creixell

    Juan Creixell 

  • Photo of Christopher Dolce

    Christopher Dolce 

  • Photo of Kareem Hajjar

    Kareem Hajjar 

  • Photo of Tim Kane

    Tim Kane 

  • Photo of Timothy Keyes

    Timothy Keyes 

  • Photo of Stephanie Lucie

    Stephanie Lucie 

  • Photo of Catherine Martinez

    Catherine Martinez 


List of 6 members.

  • Photo of Terry Modoff

    Terry Modoff 

  • Photo of Reagan Nash

    Reagan Nash 

  • Photo of Joanne Senn

    Joanne Senn 

  • Photo of Keili Smith

    Keili Smith 

  • Photo of Al Sommers

    Al Sommers 

  • Photo of Leslie Suffoletta

    Leslie Suffoletta 


The Articles of Incorporation for St. Michael’s were first filed on February 16, 1983, under the corporate name A Catholic High School for Austin, Inc. (doing business as St. Michael’s Academy). A Texas non-profit corporation, the School is governed by a Board of Trustees. The Board is a self-perpetuating body, electing trustees to serve three-year terms. The Head of School and the Superintendent of Catholic Schools in the Diocese of Austin are ex officio non-voting members of the Board.


Mr. Jarrett Anderson, Vice Chair
Mr. Jason Beiter
Fr. Louis Brusatti
Mr. Juan Creixell ’90 
Mr. Christopher Dolce, Chair (Alumnus '88)
Mr. Kareem Hajjar (Alumnus '96)
Mr. Tim Kane
Mr. Tim Keyes
Ms. Stephanie Lucie, Secretary
Ms. Catherine Martinez
Ms. Terry Modoff
Mr. Reagan Nash
Ms. Joanne Senn
Ms. Keili Smith
Mr. Al Sommers
Ms.Leslie Suffoletta, Treasurer

Ex Officio Non-Voting Members
Dr. Dawn Nichols, Head of School
Ms. Misty Poe, Superintendent of Catholic Schools


  • Dr. C. Leonard Dolce, Chair
  • Mr. Thomas Blair
  • Mr. Louis Brill
  • Mr. James Carpenter
  • Mr. Travis Froehlich
  • Mr. T. Kevin McConn
  • Dr. Thomas Schatz
  • Mr. Garry Vacek

Founding Values

Encounter Christ
Be Christ to others and seek Christ in the Eucharist, the Scriptures, and the people around us.

Radiate Joy
Be happy, thankful, hopeful, and kind.

Aspire for Better
Set and passionately pursue aspirational goals.

Work together for the common good, through informed candor rooted in relational trust.

Respect the Family
Nurture the bonds of family, the primary source of education and spiritual formation.

Act with Integrity
Cultivate an inner voice of honor and heroic virtue.